english | franšais | deutsch | espa˝ol


CIDECT presents awards at each International Symposium on Tubular Structures (ISTS) for work in the field of tubular structures.

Any student studying for a BSc, MSc (or equivalent) or a graduated engineer or architect who will be under the age of 35 at the time of the ISTS, is eligible to apply for an award.

CIDECT will present awards in two categories.

The first is for student or graduate engineers who can present research in which they have been involved which has had as its aim the extension of knowledge of the capabilities and functionality of structural hollow sections.

The second is for student or graduate structural engineers or architects who have used structural hollow sections in a new or creative way in the design of any structure. This can be either a structure commissioned by a client or a design study, but in all cases the structural effectiveness of the design should be validated.

In each category, there is a trophy for 1st place and certificates for the two runners-up to be presented by CIDECT during the International Symposium on Tubular Structures.
Up to three nominated students in each category will present their work during a special session at the International Symposium on Tubular Structures, during which the winner will be announced. CIDECT will pay for the travelling and lodging expenses of the six nominated students who attend the symposium (1 person per paper).


All applications for these awards should be made to CIDECT.
Students are invited to supply an abstract on two A4 pages including photo's and figures(for Design Award up to 5 pages), plus a half page evaluation from their university professor or company principal.

All the selected proposals will be evaluated by a panel made up of the CIDECT President, Vice President, the chairmen of the Technical Commission and Promotion Committee, and the ISTS chairmen of the Local Organising Committee and the International Programme Committee. This judging panel will select 3 nominated projects as a maximum in each category.

The winning project in each category will be announced at the International Symposium on Tubular Structures, where the winners will be presented with their trophies and the runners up with their certificates.

CIDECT Award 2010

CIDECT Award 2008

CIDECT Award 2006

CIDECT Award 2003

CIDECT Award 2001